Related Links

Business Outreach

 

Business Outreach Newsletters

 

Contracting Information

 

Contractor Prequalification

 

Labor Compliance

 

Notices, Site Walks, Bid Tabs
(project specific)

 

Professional Services

 

Project Stabilization Agreement

 

Doing Business

Interested in doing business with San Diego Unified School District’s (San Diego Unified) Facilities Planning and Construction Division?  Interested in working on Propositions S and Z projects? This is the portal to resources that will allow you to do just that. San Diego Unified is always looking to meet new construction contractors and construction-related professional services consultants. Beyond this page, we provide information to help those bidding our work to be more competitive.
 
Click here to get on our database—our most important resource for bidders—and to self-certify your business. Small, local and emerging businesses are especially important to our board of education and engaging them in our construction program is a top priority. For the Business Outreach page, click here.
 

Things You Should Know

Contractor Prequalification: San Diego Unified requires general contractors and electrical, mechanical and plumbing subcontractors to submit a prequalification package to bid on projects over $1 million (regardless of the value of the prime and/or subcontractor’s work on the project).  For more information and a list of prequalified contractors, click here.

Contractor Registration Law: San Diego Unified may use only registered contractors and subcontractors on public works new construction and maintenance projects. That means that the district may not accept a bid or enter into a contract for public works project with an unregistered contractor, or accept bids that include unregistered subcontractors. Registration must be renewed annually, effective July 1 each year, regardless of the original date of registration.

The law applies to all contractors and subcontractors who intend to bid or perform work on San Diego Unified projects; imposes a fee payable to the State of CA.

 1. More information: SB 854 Fact Sheet 

 2. Link to Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) website

 3. Link to DIR contractor application

DVBE Requirement: SDUSD requires 3% DVBE/SDVOB participation on all publicly bid construction contracts. Click here to view and print our Disabled Veteran Business Participation Tip Sheet.

 

DemandStar, San Diego Unified's procurement site: http://tinyurl.com/sdusd-bids

 

PlanWell, San Diego Unified's procurement site: www.crplanwell.com. Select "Go" under Public Planroom, then type “SDUSD” in Find field.

 

Get Connected

Construction Contracts

Linda Hippe, Contracts Administration Supervisor (interim)

Tel: 858-522-5831
Fax: 858-522-5885
lhippe@sandi.net

Judith Stark, Construction Contracts Assistant

Tel: 858-522-5864
Fax: 858-522-5885
jstark@sandi.net

Natalie Ethridge, Contracts Specialist

Tel: 858-522-5825
Fax: 858-522-5885
nethridge@sandi.net

Blessing Lewis, Construction Contracts Assistant

Tel: 858-522-5834
Fax: 858-522-5885
slewis2@sandi.net

Glenda Burbery, Construction Contracts Assistant

Tel: 858-522-5832
Fax: 858-522-5885
gburbery@sandi.net

Professional Services Contracts

Najwa Farace, Contracts Specialist

Tel: 858-522-5833
Fax: 858-522-5885
nfarace@sandi.net

Marie Avila, Construction Contracts Assistant

Tel: 858-522-5865
Fax: 858-522-5885
mavila@sandi.net

Jennifer Almond, Contracts Specialist

Tel: 858-522-5822
jalmond@sandi.net

Business Outreach

Karen Linehan, Manager

Tel: 858-627-7232
Fax: 858-573-5857
klinehan@sandi.net

Alma Banuelos, Small Business Coordinator

Tel: 858-573-5852
Fax: 858-573-5857
abanuelos@sandi.net