Admin

Doing Business with Facilities Planning & Construction

Doing Business

Interested in doing business with San Diego Unified School District's Facilities Planning and Construction Division? Interested in working on S/Z/YY capital improvement bond projects? This is the portal to resources that will allow you to do just that. San Diego Unified is always looking to meet new construction contractors and construction-related professional services consultants. Beyond this page, we provide information to help those bidding our work to be more competitive.

Click here to get on our database - our most important resource for bidders - and to self-certify your business. Small, local and emerging businesses are especially important to our board of education and engaging them in our construction program is a top priority. For the Business Outreach page, click here.

Things You Should Know

Contractor Prequalification: San Diego Unified requires general contractors and mechanical, electrical, and plumbing (MEP) subcontractors to submit a prequalification package to bid on projects over $1 million (regardless of the value of the prime and/or subcontractor's work on the project). For more information and a list of prequalified contractors, click here.

Contractor Registration Law: San Diego Unified may use only Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) registered contractors and subcontractors on public works for new construction and maintenance projects. This means the law applies to all contractors and subcontractors who intend to bid or perform work on San Diego Unified projects and that the District may not accept a bid or enter into a contract for a public works project with an unregistered contractor, or accept bids that include unregistered subcontractors.

  1. More information: SB 854 Fact Sheet
  2. Link to Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) website
  3. Link to DIR Contractor Application

DVBE Requirement: SDUSD requires a mandatory 3% DVBE/SDVOB participation on all publicly bid construction contracts. Click here to view and print our Disabled Veteran Business Participation Tip Sheet.

PlanetBids is one of San Diego Unified's bid notification sites that advertises our construction projects out for bid.

PlanWell is another of San Diego Unified's bid notification sites where plans and specs can be viewed. Select "Go" under Public Planroom, then type "SDUSD" in find field.

Get Connected

PRE-AWARD CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTS

Linda Hippe, Contracts Administration Supervisor, Construction Cristina Saludado, Construction Contracts Assistant, Prequalification
Ph: 858-522-5831 Ph: 858-522-5832
lhippe@sandi.net

csaludado@sandi.net

Jennifer Almond, Contract Specialist Marie Juarez, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5822 Ph: 858-522-5835
jalmond@sandi.net mjuarez@sandi.net
Sharon Cheng, Contract Specialist Judi Stark, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5854 Ph: 858-522-5864
scheng@sandi.net jstark@sandi.net
Natalie Ethridge, Contract Specialist Clarisa Santiago, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5825 Ph: 858-522-5855
nethridge@sandi.net csantiago@sandi.net
Ashley Mains, Contract Specialist Maureen Hatem, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5830 Ph: 858-522-5870
amains@sandi.net mhatem@sandi.net
Jessica Imperial, Contract Specialist Catherine Howe, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5840 Ph: 858-522-5826
jimperial@sandi.net chowe1@sandi.net
Mason Moyers, Contract Specialist Shasta Boss, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph: 858-522-5853 Ph: 858-522-5834
mmoyers1@sandi.net sboss@sandi.net 

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

Julie Poeschel, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph 858-522-5860
Fax 619-542-5760
jpoeschel@sandi.net

Suzi Prentice, Construction Contracts Assistant
Ph 858-522-5816
Fax 619-542-5716
sprentice@sandi.net

BUSINESS OUTREACH

Karen Linehan, Manager
Tel: 858-627-7232
Fax: 858-573-5857
klinehan@sandi.net

Alma Banuelos, Small Business Coordinator
Tel: 858-573-5852
Fax: 858-573-5857
abanuelos@sandi.net