Warning! Editing this pageset section will affect all pages on your website.

VAPA Advisory Council


  1. to advise the VAPA Director and VAPA staff on implementation of the SDUSD Strategic Arts Education Plan
  2. to help inform and educate district VAPA teachers and community on implementation of the plan


  • Meetings are held quarterly on Monday afternoons from 4:30-6:00pm.
  • At this time, meetings are virtual. They are open to the public; please email vapa@sandi.net for the link.
  • The proposed meeting schedule (subject to change) for the 2021-2022 school year is:
  1. Monday, September 20, 2021
  2. Monday, November 15, 2021
  3. Tuesday, January 10, 2022 - retreat, 8am-3pm
  4. Monday, March 7, 2022
  5. Monday, May 9, 2022


  • Andrea LeMaitre (Dance teacher, SDSCPA), Chair
  • Michael Fiedler (Music teacher, Canyon Hills High School), Vice Chair
  • Donna Silva Garcia (Friends of SCPA), Secretary


Council members serve two-year terms.

Arts Specialist Representatives Other SDUSD Representatives Community Members Arts Organizations

Andrea LeMaitre, Dance, SDSCPA (2022)

Trisha Cox, Visual Art, Muirlands Middle School (at large member) (2022)

Donna Silva Garcia, SDSCPA/FOSCPA Liaison (2023)

Deirdre Moore, Residency Program Manager, Arts for Learning San Diego (2023)

Kevin Psolka-Green, General Music, Jerabek Elementary School (2022)

Maureen Flynn, Music, De Portola Middle School (at large member) (2023)

Allison Boles, Education and Community Program Manager, La Jolla Music Society (2023)

Brooke Newman, Education Coordinator, Outside the Lens (2023)

Mark Nadeau, Elementary Instrumental Music (2022)

Michelle Pampo, Balboa Elementary School (classroom teacher) (2023)

Lisel Gorell-Getz, Education Coordinator, The Old Globe (2022)

Ann Marie Haney, Chair, Community Council for Music in the Schools (2022)

Kayla Rodgers, Choral Music, San Diego High School (2023)

Joseph Waldron, Dance, Sequoia and Cadman Elementary Schools (2023)

Jesse Schiffman, Manager of Learning and Community Engagement, San Diego Symphony (2023)

Erika Phillips, Arts Engagement Programs Manager, The Old Globe (2023)

Michael Fiedler, Instrumental Music, Canyon Hills High School (2023)

TBD (high school student) (2023)

Holly Wright, President, San Diego Unified Council of PTAs (PTA rep) (2023)

Patrick Garcia, Theatre, Scripps Ranch High School (2022)

TBD (high school student) (2023)

Dr. Keith Pedersen, Professor of Music, Point Loma Nazarene University (post-secondary education rep) (2023)

Amy Chagnon, Theatre, Point Loma High School (2023)

Laura Berlin, Visual Art, Clairemont High School (2022)

Brian Black, Visual Art, Crawford High School (2023)

Meera Ramanathan, Visual Art, Zamarano Fine Arts Academy (2023)

TBD, Visual Art (2023)

 Kayla Warren, Media Arts, CPMA Middle School (2023)