Admin

Special Education Interpreters and Translators

Welcome! Our department provides interpreting and translation services related to
Special Education. We currently have Spanish and Vietnamese interpreters on staff. Other languages are covered through cooperation agreements with an outside agency.

If you have questions regarding translation/interpretation not related to Special Education, please contact Ana Morales, Translation Department (Public Information Office) amorales@sandi.net.

(If you need an ASL interpreter, please contact dhhhands@sandi.net).

Request Forms

  • Interpretation

To request an interpreter (all languages) for an IEP meeting, IEP assessment, 504 review, or check-in call, please use the  Interpreter Request Form. You will be notified when your request is scheduled. Incomplete forms will be returned unscheduled.

Examples of Completed Request Forms

Enabling Zoom Interpretation Function

Please send forms for IEP meetings and assessments with at least 2 weeks’ notice and allow up to 48 hours for a response.  For questions, please contact ieprequest@sandi.net, or call 619-362-4430 (direct line active during Virtual Learning)

  • Translation

Request for Translation of IEP Documents

This section will be updated soon! For urgent requests, please contact ieprequest@sandi.net cc: mgarcia12@sandi.net.

  • Additional Resources

Tips for working with Interpreters

Department Frequently Asked Questions

Interpretation for Remote IEP Meetings

Interpreting and Translation Services - Special Education Procedures Manual

Procedural Safeguards

Contacts

Mario Garcia, Supervisor
mgarcia12@sandi.net
619-362-4430 
Kimbrough Elementary, Room 116

Staff

Bravo, Victoria - vbravo@sandi.net

Cagle, Summer - scagle@sandi.net

Chavez, Patti- pmendez@sandi.net

Gonzalez, Karen - kgonzales@sandi.net

Ledezma, Fidel- fledezma1@sandi.net

McIntyre, Jeovanna - amcintyre@sandi.net
Martin Nieto, Jose Manuel - 
jmartinnieto@sandi.net

Michel, Lily - lilymichel@sandi.net
Riggins, Josefina - 
jriggins@sandi.net
Teal, Angelica - 
ateal@sandi.net
Tran, Duc - 
dtran1@sandi.net
Trejo, Veronica - vtrejo@sandi.net

Other

If you have questions regarding translations/interpretations not related to 504 Plans or Special Education, please contact:amorales@sandi.net

Ana Morales: Manager, Translation Department

2441 Cardinal Lane, Building C

San Diego, CA 92123

Phone: (858) 496-8366