VAPA Advisory Council


  1. to advise the VAPA Director and VAPA staff on implementation of the SDUSD Strategic Arts Education Plan
  2. to help inform and educate district VAPA teachers and community on implementation of the plan


  • Meetings are held quarterly on Monday afternoons from 4:30-6:00pm.
  • Meetings at the Instructional Media Center (2441 Cardinal Lane) and are open to the public.
  • The first meeting of the 2018-2019 school year is September 24.

Elected Leadership

  • Brian Black (Visual Art Teacher, Crawford High School), Chair for 2018-2019
  • Daniel Kriley (Theatre Teacher, Mira Mesa High School), Vice Chair for 2018-2019
  • Sara Freese (Choral Music Teacher, CPMA), Secretary for 2018-2019

Council Members

Arts Specialist RepresentativesOther SDUSD StaffCommunity MembersArts Organizations

Andrea LeMaitre, Dance, SDSCPA

Marc Dwyer, Instrumental Music, Correia Junior High (at large member)Donna Silva Garcia, President, FOSCPA Joanna Benson, Education Manager, San Diego Museum of Art

Kevin Psolka-Green, General Music, Jerabek Elementary

Dierdre Moore, Professional Expert, Birney Elementary (at large member)Bridget Cantu Wear, Associate Director of Development, The Old GlobeTara Graviss, Executive Director, Arts for Learning

TBD, Elementary Instrumental Music 

TBD (at large member)Lorie Zapf, San Diego CouncilmemberAnn Marie Haney, Chair, Community Council for Music in the Schools

Sara Freese, Choral Music, CPMA 

Michelle Pampo, Balboa Elementary (classroom teacher)TBD Stephen McCormick, Director, Education & Outreach, La Jolla Playhouse

John Reynolds, Instrumental Music, SDSCPA

Katrina Stansfield, Benchley Weinberger Elementary (classroom teacher)TBD  

Patrick Garcia, Theatre, Scripps Ranch High School


Daniel Kriley, Theatre, Mira Mesa High School


Laura Berlin, Visual Art, Clairemont High School 


Brian Black, Visual Art, Crawford High School


Beth Mikulanis, Visual Art, Morse High School


TBD, Visual Art