District Home


School Site Council/Site Governance Team

The Zamorano School Site Council (SSC) and the Zamorano Site Governance Team (SGT) are an elected, decision-making group made up of parents, teachers, administrator, school staff, and community members who work collaboratively towards the common goal and mission of making Zamorano a great school for students to learn and grow.

The SSC plans school goals and objectives, reviews and approves program modifications, monitors progress and evaluates outcomes. The Council is charged with the legal responsibility to insure services meet the needs of special student populations. The SSC is also responsible for categorical funding, such as Title I, Second Language and GATE.  In other words, the SSC makes decisions about how to provide an outstanding educational program for all students at Zamorano!

SGT members act as an advisory body on issues other than major categorical programs. Zamorano's Governance Team is a shared decision-making body who are empowered to plan, problem solve, and make recommendations to improve the quality of education, and operations of the school.

Elected parents serve in both groups.  All meetings are public, and all parents/guardians are welcome to attend. Meeting minutes and agendas are posted on the parent board located in the front of the school and in the main office. Meeting dates can be found in our weekly parent newsletter and in our online calendar.
School Site Council Members
Derek MurchisonPrincipal
Leslie HouckTeacher/Chair
Barbara UmadaTeacher/Secretary
Stephanie Palomo-SchmidtTeacher
Alexis BoernerOther/School Rep
Maria Teresa LopezParent
Rosa Maria Reyes LopezParent/DAC Rep
Shenee GloverParent
Willie GloverParent/DAC Alt

Lorayne Sandino

Rasheedah Gooden



School Site Council meetings are held monthly at the South Staff Lounge and begin at 2:15 p.m. See calendar.



 Site Governance Team Members
Noelle KottasParent - Year 1
Emalyn FanugaoParent - Year 1
Janet MoralesParent - Year 1
Barbie KitchenKindergarten Teacher - Chair - Year 1
Evelia Cerantes3rd Grade Teacher - Year 1
Mikki Yepiz5th Grade Teacher - Union Rep. - Year 1
Derek Murchison Principal
Robert Vera Vice Principal (Guest)
Site Governance Team meetings are held monthly in the South Staff Lounge and begin at 2:15 p.m. See calendar.
See also: