District Home

What are the Common Core Standards


What are the Common Core Standards?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

 cde Click here to go to the California Department of Education
K-12 CCSSI_ELA Standards
The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in
History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (“the Standards”) are
the culmination of an extended, broad-based effort to fulfill the charge issued
by the states to create the next generation of K–12 standards in order to help
ensure that all students are college and career ready in literacy no later than the
end of high school.

This report identifies the types and ranges of college- and career-ready skills reflected in the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in mathematics and English Language Arts/Literacy, using two sets of skills statements – the Deeper Learning Standards and the Career Cluster Essential Knowledge and Skills Statements – as benchmarks.

Policy Points_Common_Core_State_Standards
The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) outline what students should know and
be able to do in reading and mathematics from kindergarten through 12th grade. The
standards align with the knowledge and skills needed to successfully enter college or
the workforce, are benchmarked to the standards of the world’s top-performing
countries, and mark the first time that states share a common set of expectations for
the nation’s students.
Forty-five states and the District of Columbia have adopted the Common Core standards
and are preparing to fully implement them—including administering tests based on
them—in the 2014–15 school year. But rumors and myths about the CCSS have run
rampant, causing confusion among educators, policymakers, and the public. This
resource clarifies what the standards are and are not and tackles these myths head-on.
K-12 Common Core Content Standards for Math
The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe varieties of expertise that mathematics educators at all levels shouldseek to develop in their students.These practices rest on important “processes and proficiencies” with longstandingimportance in mathematics education. The first of these are the NCTM process standards of problem solving, reasoning andproof, communication, representation, and connections. The second are the strands of mathematical proficiency specified inthe National Research Council’s report Adding It Up : adaptive reasoning, strategic competence, conceptual understanding (comprehension of mathematical concepts, operations and relations), procedural fluency (skill in carrying out procedures flexibly, accurately, efficiently and appropriately), and productive disposition (habitual inclination to see mathematics as sensible, useful, and worthwhile, coupled with a belief in diligence and one’s own efficacy).