District Home
Login

Finn, Tim

PE Syllabus  |   CAHPERD    |   Teens Health  

I am very excited and humbled to serve the CPMA community as the Physical Education teacher. I am looking forward to working with students, parents, and staff as we move forward to becoming the best performing arts school in the San Diego Unified School District. I feel that this school offers the students a wide range of wonderful educational experiences, experiences they will be able to apply in many different aspects of their lives.

Education: BS in Recreation/Coaching, from Emporia State University, Kansas. Single Subject Physical Education, from National University San Diego. M.A. Educational Administration from San Diego State University.

Credentials: Single subject teaching credential in Physical Education. Educational Administration credential.

Responsibilities: Facilities, Attendance, school safety, supervision, attendance review, discipline, teacher support/resource, physical education chair, governance committee co-chair, Instructional council, parent communication, open house, 8th grade promotions

Background: I have lived in San Diego for most of my life but was born in Colorado Springs Colorado. I am proud to say that I am a SDUSD graduate. Aspiring to be a professional baseball player I moved to Kansas for 6 years to continue that pursuit. After returning to San Diego in the early 1990's I spent a couple of years working for the City of San Diego Parks and Recreation Department. During that time I also began coaching baseball and football at Hoover High School. Coaching lead me to my real goal of education. I began my teaching career as a special education teacher at Hoover, while finishing my teaching credential at National University. I started teaching Physical Education at Marston Middle School and later moved to CPMA to teach PE. During my time at CPMA I went back to school to get my Masters degree. With my Masters in Administration I have since moved into the current position of Dean of Students/resource teacher.

Personal: I am married with 2 boys and 1 girl, Zachary, Bailey, and Madison. During my spare time I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I'm trying to absorb as much of my kids lives as I can. I am a sportsman by nature and enjoy doing anything that involves sports. Depending on the season you can catch me either taking in a game at Petco or sitting in my season ticket seats with the Chargers at Qualcomm.