On September 4, 2012, the San Diego Unified School District (SDUSD) Board of Education passed a resolution establishing the SDUSD Charter School Facility Committee (CSFC) for the purpose of providing recommendations to the Board of Education on the use of Proposition Z funds allocated for charter school facilities to include the acquisition, construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or replacement of charter school facilities, including the furnishing and equipping of charter school facilities.  The Committee is to be comprised of seven members, including five charter school board members or employees, and two individuals with expertise, knowledge or background related to charter school operations/facilities. 

Committee members were nominated by the Superintendent after consultation with the charter school community and appointed by the board to two-year terms.  The first terms are to be staggered such that three members are initially appointed for one-year terms.  To fulfill the requirement of staggered terms, staff conducted a lottery to determine which members would be appointed for one-year and two-year terms. 

In a statewide general election on November 6, 2018, San Diego County voters approved Measure YY; the "San Diego School Repair and Student Safety Measure of 2018".  At a publicly noticed meeting on May 14, 2019, the SDUSD Board of Education approved a resolution to expand the role of the CSFC to include providing recommendations to the Board relative to the expenditure of Measure YY funds allocated to charter school facilities.  This includes funding for the acquisition of new facilities, and for the construction, reconstruction and/or modification, rehabilitation, or replacement of new and existing facilities; including the furnishing and equipping of these facilities as permitted by law.