Area 4 Schools
High Schools



Middle Schools

Elementary Schools
Adams Alcott
Bay Park
 CentralCherokee Point 
Lindbergh Schweitzer
Rosa ParksRowan 


Atypical Schools
John Muir K-12Longfellow K-8

Area 4 Superintendent

Clairemont, Madison, and Hoover Clusters

Dr. Sofia Freire
Sofia Freire

Dr. Sofia Freire is the Area 4 Superintendent and supervises schools in the Clairemont, Madison, and Hoover high school clusters. She holds a Masters Degree in Educational Leadership from Cal State Fullerton and a Doctorate of Education from the University of Southern California. Since 2011 she had served as the Senior Director of School Transformation for the Partnership for Los Angeles Schools.

Her work included coaching, mentoring, and evaluating secondary principals; planning and facilitating monthly leadership conferences on instructional leadership and organizational management, and summer seminars and retreats on Common Core State Standards; and leading a team of math and English experts in developing curriculum and assessments.

Dr. Freire has more than eight years of service as a secondary principal and assistant principal, beginning her educational career as a multiple subjects teacher in middle school.

The Clairemont High School cluster includes Marston Middle School; Longfellow K-8; Alcott, Bay Park, Cadman, Holmes, and Toler elementary schools.

The Madison High School cluster includes CPMA and Innovation middle schools; Field, Hawthorne, Lafayette, Lindbergh Schweitzer, Sequoia, and Whitman elementary schools; and Muir K-12.

The Hoover High School cluster includes Clark and Wilson middle schools; Adams, Central, Cherokee Point, Edison, Franklin, Hamilton, Joyner, Normal Heights, Rosa Parks and Rowan elementary schools. 



4100 Normal Street, Room 2016
San Diego, CA 92103
Sofia Freire, Ed.D.
Area 4 Superintendent
Phone: (619) 725-7254
Fax: (619) 725-7110
Frances Flores
Administrative Assistant
Room 2038
Phone: (619) 725-5584
Fax: (619) 725-7110