Teacher of the Year ceremony highlights Teacher Appreciation Week

Posted: Monday, May 2nd 2016

Teachers of the Year ceremony highlights Teacher Appreciation Week

An elementary itinerant music teacher, a middle-school math and AVID teacher, and a high-school history teacher are San Diego Unified's 2016 Teachers of the Year.

The Board of Education celebrated Julie Szweda, Tara Jean and Jonathan Hash, as well as runners-up Allison Buell, Ebonee Weathers and Jennifer Roberts at Tuesday's Board of Education meeting, the annual Teacher of the Year ceremony. The event was held at Creative Performing Media Arts Middle School's new Performing Arts Center, 5050 Conrad Drive, San Diego, CA 92117.

Superintendent Cindy Marten joined Board of Education members, district leadership, school administrators, families and friends of teachers being recognized, and student performers from CPMA Middle School and Hoover High School.

This year’s winners are Julie Szweda, who serves Balboa, Boone, Burbank, Normal Heights and Rosa Parks elementary schools; Tara Jean, from Correia Middle School; and Jonathan Hash from Lincoln High School. Runners-up are Allison Buell, a kindergarten teacher from Central Elementary School; Ebonee Weathers, sixth-grade ELA, science, history, Mann Middle School; and Jennifer Roberts ninth-grade English, Point Loma High School.

In addition to the Teacher of the Year ceremony, there was a reception before the special Board of Education meeting in which students from San Diego Unified's award-winning culinary arts programs at Garfield, Morse and San Diego high schools prepared and served appetizers and desserts. The Jazz Ensemble from CPMA provided the music.

More than 120 Teachers of the Year from individual schools were also recognized.

Sponsors helped underwrite the cost of the event and include AXA Advisors San Diego, The Standard, California Coast Credit Union, California Schools VEBA, eLiveLife.com, Mission Federal Credit Union , San Diego Education Association, San Diego Education Fun, San Diego Unified’s Community Service Association and VALIC.


News Coverage

Site Teachers of the Year


Deron AmblerSan Diego High School - Int. Studies
Anna BakeriHigh Virtual Academy
Wyvona BarrettWhitman Elementary School
Erika BarziWhittier School
Diana BentleyMontgomery Middle School
Ellen BerganMorse High School
Karina BermudezBoone Elementary School
Timothy BinghamKearny High - EID
Alex BlackwelderScripps Ranch High School
Allison BuellCentral Elementary School
Summer CatariusLindbergh Schweitzer Elementary School
Ni Kon ChenMadison High School
Jeanne ChristensenMira Mesa High School
Greg ChronopolosPatrick Henry High School
Stephanie ClayKearny High - DMD
Alica ColbySan Diego Met High School
Danny CookChallenger Middle School
Jon CorbinMission Bay High School
Ashley CorreiaOak Park Elementary & Music Conservatory
Kathy CrawfordZamorano Fine Arts Academy
Alisa CusterMiramar Ranch Elementary School
David DaVoreTorrey Pines Elementary
Dawn DouglasWangenheim Middle School
Lisa DuqueEncanto Elementary School
Alaska EnglishFay Elementary School
Rosemarie EsparzaMason Elementary School
Donna FallonUniversity City High School
Michelle FernandezRodriguez Elementary
Jon FiatoHome/Hospital & Transition Supports School
Carolyn FrummCarver Elementary School
Debbie GawleBird Rock Elementary School
Theresa GivensLafeyette Elementary School
Taylor GoliaEuclid Elementary School
Fernando GomezHamilton Elementary School
Mark GonzalesHoover High School
Gilberto GonzalezCreative Performing Media Arts Middle
Luz GonzalezKimbrough Elementary School
Veronica GonzalezSherman Elementary School
Jim GreenwoodMt. Everest Academy
Erin GrettenbergerAlcott Elementary School
Kimberly GutierrezRolando Park Elementary School
Justin HalbertGarfield High School
Jennifer HardenSan Diego High School - Business
Erica HargetHorton Elementary School
Debbie HarrisSequoia Elementary School
Jonathan HashLincoln High School
Jose HernandezPerry Elementary School
Dana HessKumeyaay Elementary School
Jonathan HillKnox Middle School
Roseann HodgeBell Middle School
Mark HoskissonALBA
Lori HunstmanNormal Heights Elementary School
Katherine HutsonaJefferson Elementary State Preschool
Amy JacksonFreese Elementary School
Tara JeanCorreia Middle School
Joanne JohnsonKearny High - Sci-Tech
LeEdward JohnsonLanguage Academy
Melinda KatonaJohnson Elementary School
Tracy KingChesterton Elementary School
Caroline KnaplundLoma Portal Elementary School
Stephen LambLogan K-8
Mary LarsonHardy Elementary School
Suanne LeCarson Elementary School
Carole LeCrenLa Jolla High School
Albert LeeruangsriBarnard Mandarin Chinese Magnet School
Miriam LoboBurbank Elementary School
Thomas LoneyCherokee Point Elementary School
Brian LozoskieCadman Elementary School
Jennifer LucePacific Beach Elementary School
Heidi MattosIbarra Elementary School
Barbara McCormickJerabek Elementary School
John MichenerHoover High School
Julie MillenSan Diego High - Sci Tech
Maria MilletPershing Middle School
Maureen MinderBay Point State Preschool
Elena MonettiBirney Elementary School
Cedric MooreMemorial Preparatory for Scholars & Athletes
Lisa MorganWebster Elementary School
Tamara MuhammMillennial Tech Middle School
Dina NicholsWashington Elementary School
Stacie NixonMarston Middle School
Lynn OshiroLewis Middle School
Peter OskinSerra High School
Jennifer PaineTaft Middle School
Rosemary PangTRACE School
Erin ParisPacific Beach Middle School
Clara PascarellaMark Twain High School
Brett PatrickBethune K-8 School
Tracey PerraultHickman Elementary School
Kathleen PhillipsMcKinley Elementary School
Gigi PincusJones Elementary School
Dana QuinnOcean Beach Elementary School
Carolyn RepaireAdams Elementary School
Darcy RhodesVista Grande Elementary School
Julie RickMarshall Middle School
Jennifer RobertsPoint Loma High School
Keith RossLinda Vista Elementary School
Michelle Salgado GilE.B. Scripps Elementary School
Donna SalongoEricson Elementary School
Jane SanchezAudubon K-8
Amy SatterHage Elementary School
Dawn SavangsengothayChollas-Mead Elementary School
Glen SawyersParadise Hills Elementary School
Maria SchiermanClay Elementary School
Angela SchuJohn Muir Magnet TK-12
Christopher SchulzeMonroe Clark Middle School
Rochelle SchwartzDingeman Elementary School
Melody SheldahlMiller Elementary School
Lisa SipeHolmes Elementary School
Debra SkaarGage Elementary School
Lynn SmallwoodAdapted Physical Education
Adriane StewartField Elementary School
Abby StowerToler Elementary School
Julie SzwedaVisual & Performing Arts
Julie TachikiJonas Salk Elementary
Janis TaniLee Elementary School
Regina TaylorMuirlands Middle School
Sandra TerrellPenn Elementary School
Lisa Tessare-LoveCrown Point Elementary School
Alice TorigoeInnovation Middle School
Cynthia TrunzoFulton K-8
Danielle Vincent-GriffithCrawford High School
Jennifer Waring HollowBaker Elementary School
Ebonee WeathersMann Middle School
Linda WechslerEmerson/Bandini Elementary School
Leslie WilsonSilver Gate Elementary School
Theona Young-ShieldsValencia Park Elementary School
Mary Jane ZappiaWilson Middle School




Share this: