'Salute to Excellence' honors top Class of '16 grads

Posted: Friday, May 27th 2016

Salute to Excellence group photo

The top one percent of San Diego Unified's Class of 2016—more than 75 students—were honored during the district's 10th annual Salute to Excellence.

Each of the students, including all high school valedictorians, were presented by their school's principal or another administrator and received certificates and medals noting their achievement during the event held at Sea World San Diego. Some of these students are the first in their families to go to college.

Principals, counselors, parents and other family members were in attendance along with Board of Education members and Supt. Cindy Marten. Karla Rodriguez from Clairemont High School was the student speaker, with musical entertainment provided by the Mission Bay High School Jazz Trio, “The Last Minute.”

Ed Abeyta, UCSD Assistant Dean for Community Engagement and Director, Pre-College and Career Preparation Programs, was Master of Ceremonies. Laura Slanec, SeaWorld’s Director of Education and Conservation welcomed the attendees.

News coverage

Students of Excellence

Clairemont High School

Dylan Rowe
Torrey Duncan
Julie Smith
Kristen Roberts
Sage Dillon

Crawford High School

Brian Truong
Yasmin Mohamed
Huong Nguyen

Garfield High School

Nora Rendon
Elisabeth Gonzalez

Hoover High School

MIrella Cruz Trinidad
Jennifer Bui
Victor Nguyen
Fei Yan

iHigh Virtual Academy

Jessica Castro
Samantha Shaffer

John Muir School

Kai Rensberry

Junipero Serra High School

Kim-Chi Nguyen
Angelina Ruiz
Derek Hong
Maggie Inman
Ysabelle Lam

Kearny School of Engineering, Innovation, and Design

Maria Bravo Garcia

Kearny School of International Business

Chris Cheng

Kearny School of Digital Media & Design

Brandon J. Gorham

Kearny School of Science, Connections, and Technology

Hieu Hoang

La Jolla High School

Sophia Eliopulos
Madeline Gates
John Mann
Clayton Halbert

Lincoln High School

Emmanuel Iheke
Honey Groenendal
Ella Mae Relova

Madison High School

Frank To
Roger Regge Galac
Michaela C. Brown

Mark Twain High School

Kiani Rhodes

Mira Mesa High School

Thomas Tran
Chase Deveraux
Theresa Nguyen
Jocelyn Dao
Steven Drooz
Shady Faltaous
Tony Tran

Mission Bay High School

Hannah Bloom
Kyra Forsyth
Dan Tran

Morse High School

Kenneth Icayan
Diwana Marie Lucero
Ashley Chan
Breanna Buhay

Mt. Everest Academy

Qene Mahlet

Patrick Henry High School

William Mason
Hannah Riedy
Jabril King-Mahdi
Nicolas Armenta
Diwash Shrestha

Point Loma High School

Kei Takanami
Himadree Radadia
Dalton Omens
Trevor Eide

San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts

Alexandria Loucks
Alyssa Jazmine Villalino

San Diego Early/Middle College

Angelly Tovar

San Diego High School of Business and Leadership

You Min Li
David Corona

San Diego High School of International Studies

Francesca Tirpak
Graham McKnight

San Diego High School of Science and Technology

Samuel Duke
Ian Romanas

San Diego Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical High School

Kira Cummings

Scripps Ranch High School

Nikhil Anuj Madan
Andrew Eunki Min
Jesse-Clemens Qiu Wang
Andy Kai Zhang
Chloe Chelsyn DIng

University City High School

Alexa Wing
Elena Slobodyanyuk
Abigail McGee
Brian Stack

Student Presentations

  • Color Guard: Lincoln High School Army JROTC, led by Limuel Hunter, Jr. COL  (Ret.)
  • Pledge of Allegiance: Kenny Tran, Mira Mesa High School
  • Musical Selections: Mission Bay Jazz Band, “The Last Minute,” Sean Lambert, Eric Wesling,
    and John Martinez

Share this: