Nine San Diego schools honored at California Distinguished Schools awards ceremony

Posted: Tuesday, February 11th 2020

Principal Angelia Watkins, far left, and staff from Jerabek Elementary School
Principal Angelia Watkins, far left, and staff from Jerabek Elementary School

On Monday, February 10, several San Diego Unified elementary schools were honored at the California School Recognition Program Awards Ceremony, at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, Calif.

San Diego Unified’s honored schools for 2020 are:

  • Birney Elementary
  • Crown Point Elementary
  • Dingeman Elementary
  • Ericson Elementary
  • Hancock Elementary
  • Hawthorne Elementary
  • Jerabek Elementary
  • Jonas Salk Elementary
  • Rolando Park Elementary

"These outstanding schools don't just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation," said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond in the California Department of Education's news release. "Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students."

Schools that applied to the Distinguished Schools program were eligible based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as described on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate.

Ericson Elementary

Jerabek Elementary

Image may contain: 2 people, people standing
Crown Point Jr. Music Academy

Share this: