Ford dealers' scholarships go to Class of '16 students

Posted: Tuesday, May 3rd 2016

Salute to Education by the San Diego County Ford Dealers

San Diego County Ford dealers gave $1,000 scholarships to 27 San Diego Unified students from 11 schools as part of their annual Salute to Education Scholarships program.

Graduating seniors from Crawford, Hoover, La Jolla, Madison, Morse, Mission Bay, Patrick Henry, Point Loma, San Diego High, Scripps Ranch and University City high schools received the scholarships for their upcoming work at a college or university, part of a program that gives out 150 scholarships to San Diego County high school seniors every year.

In 2016, the San Diego County Salute to Education program awarded a minimum of $150,000 in scholarships to San Diego County senior high school students. In addition, one scholarship recipient received a new Ford Focus, Fusion, Mustang or Escape on April 21; the winner of this year's car was from a school outside of the San Diego Unified School District.

Winners, their San Diego Unified schools, and their selected field of study, are:

  • Crawford High School: Noorhan Albayati, Science; Theresa Le, Medical; Bao Ly, Education; Michael Nguyen, General; Priscila Romero, Science; Brian Truong, General.
  • Hoover High School: Nelva Perales, Medical.
  • La Jolla High School: Claire Andrews, Social Science; Patricia Turner, Athletics.
  • Madison High School: Kailea Fatilua, Education; Melisha Konopacky, Business Management/Administration; Esmeralda Lopez, Science; Savannah Shapley, Mathematics.
  • Morse High School: Caroline Siegel-Singh, Business Management/Administration; Diana Tiong, Medical.
  • Mission Bay High School: Eligha Lewis, Athletics.
  • Patrick Henry High School: Georgina Fang, Arts; Christina Marshall, Social Science; Lillian Rose, Medical.
  • Pt. Loma High School: Max Adler, Mathematics; Hugo Stetz, Foreign Language.
  • San Diego High School (SciTech): Samuel Duke, Building Design/Construction; Elizabeth Molina, Medical.
  • Scripps Ranch High School: Sabine Menzhausen, Medical; Veera Panova, Medical.
  • University City High School: Daniel Krasner, Business Management/Administration; Johnny Salas, Automotive.

Funds for the San Diego County Salute to Education program are contributed by San Diego County Ford dealers. For every new vehicle sold or leased, the San Diego County Ford dealers make a contribution to the San Diego County Salute to Education scholarship program. Additional funds are contributed by Ford Motor Company, Retail First, Zubi Advertising and RMD Group.


Share this: