Teacher of the Year ceremony highlights Teacher Appreciation Week

Posted: Monday, May 2nd 2016

An elementary itinerant music teacher, a middle-school math and AVID teacher, and a high-school history teacher are San Diego Unified's 2016 Teachers of the Year.

The Board of Education celebrated Julie Szweda, Tara Jean and Jonathan Hash, as well as runners-up Allison Buell, Ebonee Weathers and Jennifer Roberts at Tuesday's Board of Education meeting, the annual Teacher of the Year ceremony. The event was held at Creative Performing Media Arts Middle School's new Performing Arts Center, 5050 Conrad Drive, San Diego, CA 92117.

Read More

Two Teachers of the Year lauded by USD School of Leadership and Education Sciences

Posted: Friday, October 23rd 2015

Shirley MirandaShirley Parrish Miranda recently named as a county Teachers of the Year, and nominee Ron Lancia, have been highlighted by their alma mater, the School of Leadership and Education Sciences at the University of San Diego.

Miranda teaches math at, and is an alumna of, Morse High School. She received her Master's degree in Education at the university in 2007.

Read More

District teachers named San Diego County Teacher of the Year, Finalist

Posted: Monday, October 12th 2015

Morse High School’s Shirley Miranda was named one of five County Teachers of the Year and Mary Lou Baranowski of Lindbergh Schweitzer Elementary was recognized as a finalist at the 25th Annual Salute to Teachers event hosted by the San Diego County Office of Education and Cox Communications.

Read More