On September 10, 2014, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill (AB) 1522 to enact the Healthy Workplaces/Healthy Families Act of 2014.  This Act provides paid sick leave to a non-represented employee who on or after July 1, 2015 works for 30 days or more in a year (July 1-June 30).  Eligible employees will accrue 1 hour of sick leave for every thirty hours worked through the course of the fiscal year.