Warning! Editing this pageset section will affect all pages on your website.

Special Education Interpreters and Translators

Welcome! Our department provides interpreting and translation services related to Special Education. We currently have Spanish and Vietnamese interpreters on staff. Other spoken languages are covered through cooperation agreements with an outside agency.

If you require urgent assistance, please contact our supervisor Mario Garcia:

Email: mgarcia12@sandi.net; Phone: 619-362-4430 (direct office line); 858-790-8995 (SDUSD GoogleVoice).

For questions regarding translation/interpretation not related to Special Education, please contact Ana Morales, Translation Department (Public Information Office) amorales@sandi.net .

If you need an ASL interpreter, please contact dhhhands@sandi.net .

Request Forms

To request an interpreter (all spoken languages) for an IEP meeting, IEP assessment, 504 review, or check-in call, please use the  Interpreter Request Form. You will be notified when your request is scheduled.

Please send forms for meetings and assessments with at least 2 weeks’ notice and allow up to 48 hours for a response.  For questions, please contact ieprequest@sandi.net, or call 619-362-4430 (direct line).

In case of any cancellations or changes, please “decline” the Outlook calendar invite and send an email to ieprequest@sandi.net as soon as possible.

Translation

To request a translated document, please use the Document Translation Request Form

Documents will be delivered to case managers and staff through the PowerSchool Special Programs platform. Case managers can distribute electronic or physical copies of translated documents to families once they are available on PowerSchool.

Please contact doctrans-iep@sandi.net or call 619-362-4430 (direct office line) if you have additional questions or require immediate assistance with document translation.

Additional Resources

Interpreting and Translation Services Form links

Contacts

Mario Garcia, Supervisor
mgarcia12@sandi.net
619-362-4430 
Kimbrough Elementary, Room 116

Bravo, Victoria - vbravo@sandi.net
Cagle, Summer - 
scagle@sandi.net
Chavez, Patti- 
pmendez@sandi.net
Gonzalez, Karen - 
kgonzales@sandi.net
Ledezma, Fidel- 
fledezma1@sandi.net
McIntyre, Jeovanna - 
amcintyre@sandi.net
Michel, Lily - 
lilymichel@sandi.net
Riggins, Josefina - 
jriggins@sandi.net
Teal, Angelica - 
ateal@sandi.net
Tran, Duc - 
dtran1@sandi.net
Trejo, Veronica - vtrejo@sandi.net

Procedural Safeguards