

SAN DIEGO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION TUESDAY, MAY 5, 2009 301 22nd STREET SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA

MINUTES

	A special meeting of the Board of Education of the San Diego Unified School District, County of San Diego, California, was held at Sherman Elementary, 301 22 nd Street, San Diego, California on May 5, 2009.
	Present: Members Barrera, de Beck, Evans, Jackson, and Nakamura Absent: None
	President Jackson called the special meeting to order with all members present.
Future Educator <u>Scholars</u>	Future Educator Scholarships were presented to senior high students April Cervantes, Morse High, Jessica Contreras, Henry High, Ronel Dalisay, University City High, Katherine Foley, Clairemont High, Megan Jochim, Henry High, Monica Mejia, Twain High, Erica Navarro, Point Loma High, Amanda Peterson, Henry High, Sharita Peyton, Clairemont High, and Jessica Williams, Lincoln High School.
	Mashin Scholarships were presented to senior high students, Biniam Ambachew, Mission Bay High, Janet Mercedes Gil, Mission Bay High, Abraham Nguyen, Preuss School, and Cristina Nguyen, Crawford High CHAMP.
National Board Certified <u>Teachers</u>	The following teachers were recognized for recently receiving National Board Certification or recertification: Sara Baros, Jones Elementary, Lauren Beck, Serra High, Erin Clark, Early Middle College, Jennifer Deaton, de Portola Middle School, Sarah Groves, Edison Elementary, Renea Jaeger, Mann Middle, Yadira Llanes-Torres, Golden Hill Elementary, Deborah Manis, Euclid Elementary, Katrina McClanahan, Adaptive Physical Education, Corrin Parkey, Fay Elementary, Tina Rasori, Fay Elementary, Florence Robins, Knox Elementary, Yendy Robinson, Farb Middle, Jerry Hobbs, out of district, Vivian Miller, Crawford High, and Johanna Rodenberg, Rosa Parks Elementary.
Day of <u>the Teacher</u>	Resolution in the Matter of the Recognition of May 5, 2009, as San Diego Unified School District Day of the Teacher (Attachment)
	Motion by member Barrera, seconded by member Nakamura to adopt the resolution recognizing May 5, 2009 as Day of the Teacher was approved unanimously.
	The Board recognized school site Teachers of the Year. The following Runners-Up for Teachers of Year were announced, Shivani Burrows-Goodwill, Harriet Tubman Village Charter School, Kelly Kovacic, Preuss School UCSD, and Martin Teachworth, La Jolla High School. The District 2009-10 Elementary Level Teacher of the Year is Bill Freeman, Porter Elementary School; District 2009-10 Middle Level Teacher of the Year is Michael Crawford,

Minutes, Board of Education May 5, 2009 Page 2

Monroe Clark Middle School; and High School 2009-10 Teacher of Year, Philippe Poncey, San Diego High School of International Studies.

ADJOURNMENT

President Jackson adjourned the meeting at 6:45 p.m. The next regular meeting of the Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, May 12, 2009 in the Eugene Brucker Education Center, 4100 Normal Street, at 2:00 p.m., closed session and 5:00 p.m., open (public) session.

Board Action Officer